Doc Alliance Award 2020: Online ceremony

The Doc Alliance Award is traditionally announced during a live ceremony at Cannes Film Festival. But 2020 was different and the award was presented on Monday, 14 December during an online, live-streamed ceremony hosted by Christopher Small (

The ceremony was attended by:

  • CPH:DOX – Mads Mikkelsen (Head of Selection Committee)
  • Doclisboa – Miguel Ribeiro & Joana Sousa (directors)
  • DOK Leipzig – Christoph Terhechte (director)
  • FIDMarseille – Jean-Pierre Rehm (Executive Officer)
  • Ji.hlava IDFF – Marek Hovorka (director)
  • Millenium Docs Against Gravity – Karol Piekarczyk (artistic director)
  • Visions du Réel – Emilie Bujes (artistic director)

The following films were presented:

Songs of Repression by Marianne Hougen-Moraga, Estephan Wagner

  • Presented by: Marianne Hougen-Moraga, Estephan Wagner
  • Mads Mikkelsen (CPH:DOX)

Ghosts: Long Way Home by Tiago Siopa

  • Presented by: Tiago Siopa (director), Pedro Fernandes Duarte (producer)
  • Miguel Ribeiro & Joana Sousa (Doclisboa)

Never Whistle Alone by Marco Ferrari

  • Presented by: Priscilla Robledo (producer)
  • Christoph Terhechte (DOK Leipzig)

Sad Song by Louise Narboni

  • Presented by: Louise Narboni (director), Aurélien Deseez (producer)
  • Jean-Pierre Rehm (FIDMarseille)

Wolves at the Borders by Martin Páv

  • Presented by: Martin Páv (director)
  • Marek Hovorka (Ji.hlava IDFF)

Lessons of Love by Małgorzata Goliszewska, Kasia Mateja

  • Presented by: Małgorzata Goliszewska, Kasia Mateja (directors)
  • Karol Piekarczyk (artistic director)

El Father Plays Himself by Mo Scarpelli

  • Mo Scarpelli (director)
  • Emilie Bujes (Visions du Réel)


The jury was composed of:

  • Czech Republic: Tomáš Stejskal (,
  • Denmark: Oscar Pedersen (Balthazar)
  • France: Antoine Thirion
  • Germany: Claudia Euen (MDR, Sächsische Zeitung, Spiegel Online)
  • Portugal: Cláudia Marques Santos (Visão)
  • Poland: Marcin Stachowicz (
  • Switzerland: Antoine Duplan (Le Temps)

The winner was announced by Oscar Pedersen.