Starting in 2008, the seven documentary festivals in Doc Alliance have nominated seven films for the prestigious Doc Alliance Award.

This annual competition was founded in 2008, intended for first and second feature films of emerging filmmakers. The Doc Alliance chose to emphasise the vitality and originality of these films as potential recipients of the prize with the knowledge that 70 per cent of filmmakers do not follow up on their feature-length debut with a second film firmly in their mind. This competition is therefore an important support system for emerging talents to continue on in their film career, both helping bolster their position as artists seeking financial support for upcoming films and in helping their work reach new audiences at home and abroad.

Nowadays, each of the Doc Alliance festivals (as well as the guest festival) nominates one feature-length and one short film, both eligible for two respective feature and short prizes. The winner of the Doc Alliance Award is decided by a jury comprised of critics, distributors, programmers or other important figures in the film industry.

Filter by:

The Melusinas at the Edge of the River

Melanie Pereira
Portugal, 2023, 82 min

Like the Glitch of a Ghost

Paula Albuquerque
Netherlands, Portugal, 2023, 21 min

winner 2023
Death of a City

João Rosas
Portugal, 2022, 116 min

May the Earth Become the Sky

Ana Vîjdea
Belgium, Hungary, Portugal, Romania, 2022, 15 min


Pedro Figueiredo Neto, Ricardo Falcão
Portugal, 2021, 84 min


José Oliveira, Marta Ramos
Portugal, 2021, 25 min

Native Rock

Macià Florit Campins
Spain, 2021, 76 min


Ricardo Moreira
Portugal, 2020, 12 min

winner 2020
Ghosts: Long Way Home

Tiago Siopa
Portugal, 2019, 116 min

winner 2019

Sabine Groenewegen
The Netherlands, 2018, 63 min


Camila Rodríguez Triana
Colombia / France, 2017, 90 min

95 And 6 To Go

Kimi Takesue
United States, 2016, 86 min

Maybe Desert Perhaps Universe

Karen Akerman, Miguel Seabra Lopes
Portugal, 2015, 99 min