Starting in 2008, the seven documentary festivals in Doc Alliance have nominated seven films for the prestigious Doc Alliance Award.

This annual competition was founded in 2008, intended for first and second feature films of emerging filmmakers. The Doc Alliance chose to emphasise the vitality and originality of these films as potential recipients of the prize with the knowledge that 70 per cent of filmmakers do not follow up on their feature-length debut with a second film firmly in their mind. This competition is therefore an important support system for emerging talents to continue on in their film career, both helping bolster their position as artists seeking financial support for upcoming films and in helping their work reach new audiences at home and abroad.

Nowadays, each of the Doc Alliance festivals (as well as the guest festival) nominates one feature-length and one short film, both eligible for two respective feature and short prizes. The winner of the Doc Alliance Award is decided by a jury comprised of critics, distributors, programmers or other important figures in the film industry.

Filter by:

The Landscape and the Fury

Nicole Vögele
Switzerland, 2024, 138 min


Camille Vigny
Belgium, 2024, 13 min

Nights Gone By

Alberto Martín Menacho
Switzerland, Spain, 2023, 106 min


Asli Baykal
Turkey, 2023, 14 min

5 Dreamers and a Horse

Aren Malakyan, Vahagn Khachatryan
Armenia, Germany, Switzerland, Denmark, Georgia. 2022, 80 min


Daniel Asadi Faezi, Mila Zhluktenko
Uzbekistan, Germany, 2022, 13 min

Looking for Horses

Stefan Pavlović
Netherlands / Bosnia and Herzegovina / France, 2021, 88 min

The Stillness Syndrome

León Siminiani
Colombia / Spain, 2020, 30 min

El Father Plays Himself

Mo Scarpelli
Venezuela / United Kingdom / Italy / United States, 2020, 105 min

That Which Does Not Kill

Alexe Poukine
Belgium / France, 2019, 83 min

winner 2018

Nebojša Slijepčević
Croatia, 2018, 76 min

winner 2017
Taste of Cement

Ziad Kalthoum
Germany / Lebanon / Syria / United Arab Emirates / Qatar, 2017, 85 min

winner 2016
Gulîstan, Land of Roses

Zaynê Akyol
Canada / Germany, 2016, 86 min